Skip to main navigation Skip to main content Skip to page footer


An alliance of 11 universities

CIVIS is a European Civic University formed by the alliance of 11 leading research higher education institutions across Europe:

 1. Aix-Marseille Université

 2. National and Kapodistrian University of Athens

 3. University of Bucharest

 4. Université libre de Bruxelles

 5. Universidad Autónoma de Madrid

 6. Sapienza Università di Roma

 7. Stockholm University

 8. Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen

 9. University of Glasgow

10. Paris Lodron University of Salzburg and

11. University of Lausanne

It brings together a community of more than 470,000 students and 58,000 staff members including 35,000 academics and researchers.

Our mission

CIVIS aims to create a truly unique European interuniversity campus where students, academics, researchers and staff will move and collaborate as freely as within their institution of origin. We will develop a deep level of European integration, involving joint learning pathways, development of complementary research facilities and diverse degree pathways.

Our vision

Our universities will become CIVIS’s European campuses.

We envision our European University as a space for innovative and responsible teaching, research, cultural exchanges and citizen action across Europe and its institutions. Based on the solid and innovative education and scientific activity in each institution, CIVIS will unite efforts and experiences to develop a European University with strong links to its local social and geographical environment and an orientation toward global challenges. It will contribute to the social, cultural and economic dynamism at both a local and global scale.

Frequently asked questions